

Indian Space Research Organisation Indian Institute of Remote Sensing Department of Space, Govt. of India Dehradun

IIRS User Interaction Meet - 2018

Government Institutions - Universities - Industries Partnership for

Enhancing Geospatial Applications

February 27, 2018

Registration: 09:00 - 09:30 hrs (Venue: Adjacent to IIRS Security Gate)

Programme at a Glance					
09:30 - 11:00 hrs	11:30 - 13:30 hrs	14:30 - 16:00 hrs	16:15 - 17:00 hrs		
Inaugural Ceremony (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)	Plenary Session - 1 Government, Academia & Industry Partnership for Capacity Building (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)	Plenary Session - 2 EO Sensors, Web Portals and Capacity Building for Promoting Geospatial Applications (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)	Panel Discussion (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)		
	Exhibition (Foyer & I st floor of Bhaskara Auditorium)				

Tea: 11:00-11:30 hrs, 16:00 - 16:15 hrs, 17:00 - 17:30 hrs

Lunch: 13:30 - 14:30 hrs

iirs

Inaugural Ceremony (09:30 - 11:00 hrs) (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)				
09:30 - 09:35 hrs	Invocation and Lighting of Lamp			
09:35 - 09:45 hrs	Welcome & Opening Remarks	Dr. A. Senthil Kumar Director, IIRS & CSSTEAP		
09:45 - 09:55 hrs	Address by Guest of Honour	Dr. L. M. S. Palni Vice Chancellor, Graphic Era University, Dehradun		
09:55 - 10:05 hrs	Address by Guest of Honour	Dr. Sharad Kumar Jain Director, National Institute of Hydrology, Roorkee		
10:05 - 10:15 hrs	Address by Guest of Honour	Dr. V. K. Dadhwal Director, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology, Thiruvananthapuram		
10:15 - 10:25 hrs	Address by Guest of Honour	Dr. R. R. Navalgund Honorary Distinguished Professor, ISRO, Bengaluru		
10:25 - 10:35 hrs	Address by Guest of Honour	Major General Girish Kumar, VSM Surveyor General of India, Survey of India, Dehradun		
10:35 - 10:40 hrs	IIRS Outreach Award Ceremony	By Chief Guest		
10:40 - 10:55 hrs	Address by Chief Guest	Dr. Sudhir Krishna Former Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development, Govt. of India		
10:55 - 11:00 hrs	Vote of Thanks	Dr. S. K. Srivastav Convener, IUIM-2018 & Dean (Academics), IIRS		
11:00 - 11:30 hrs	1:30 hrs Inauguration of Exhibition (Venue: Foyer & Ist floor of Bhaskara Auditorium) & Hi-Tea			

Plenary Session - 1 (11:30 - 13:30 hrs) (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)					
Government, Academia & Industry Partnership for Capacity Building					
Co-Chair: Dr. Sharad Kumar Jain, NIH Co-Chair: Vijay Kumar, ESRI India					
	litendra Padalia, IIRS				
11:30 - 11:35 hrs	Opening Remarks	Co-Chair(s)			
11:35 - 11:45 hrs	Capacity Building in Geospatial Technology:	Dr. A. Senthil Kumar			
	Opportunities and Challenges	Director, IIRS & CSSTEAP			
11:45 - 11:55 hrs		Dr. Sanjay Kumar			
		Director, CSIR - Institute of Himalayan Bioresource			
		Technology			
11:55 - 12:05 hrs		Dr. M. Mohapatra			
		Scientist-G & Head (Services), India Meteorological			
		Department			
12:05 - 12:15 hrs		Dr. Kishore Kumar			
		Chief Scientist, Central Road Research Institute			
12:15 - 12:25 hrs	Role of Academia in Partnership with	Dr. Y. P. Sundriyal			
	Government and Industry towards Promoting	Professor, HNB Garhwal University			
12:25 - 12:35 hrs	Geospatial Applications	Dr. Balaji Narasimhan			
	4	Department of Civil Engineering, IIT-Madras			
12:35 - 12:45 hrs		Dr. K. S. Rajan			
40.45 40.551		Head, Lab for Spatial Informatics, IIIT-Hyderabad			
12:45 - 12:55 hrs	Opportunities with Academic and Government	Vijay Kumar			
40.55 40.05 has	Institutions for Enhancing Geospatial	Vice President and Head Technology, ESRI India			
12:55 - 13:05 hrs	Applications for Societal Development:	Nikhil Kumar			
40.05 40.45 has	Industry Perspective	Director - Technical Marketing, Trimble India			
13:05 - 13:15 hrs		Dr. Harnam Singh			
10.15 10.00 has	Sr. Regional Sales Manager, Hexagon India				
13:15 - 13:30 hrs	Discussion & Concluding Remarks by Co-Chair(s)				
13:30 - 14:30 hrs	Lunch				

Plenary Session - 2 (14:30 - 16:00 hrs) (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)				
EO Sensors, Web Portals and Capacity Building for Promoting Geospatial Applications				
	Co-Chair: Dr. V. S. Hedge, ISRO Co-Chair: Dr. Balaji Narasimhan, IIT-Madras			
Rapporteur: Dr. F	larish C. Karnatak, IIRS			
14:30 - 14:35 hrs	Opening Remarks	Co-Chair(s)		
14:35 - 14:50 hrs	EO Sensors: Future Missions and Applications	Dr. John Mathew Scientist-SG, Earth Observations System Programme Office, ISRO Headguarters		
14:50 - 15:00 hrs	Bhuvan: Data Products and Services	D. Giri Babu Head, Bhuvan Systems and Web Services, NRSC		
15:00 - 15:10 hrs	MOSDAC & VEDAS services	Dr. D. K. Patel Head, Database & Web-based Division, SAC		
15:10 - 15:20 hrs	ISRO's RESPOND Programme	Dr. V. S. Hegde Professor Satish Dhawan Professor, ISRO		
15:20 - 15:30 hrs	Enabling Governance through Capacity Building in Space Technology	Dr. S. K. Srivastav Dean (Academics) & Group Director, Geospatial Technology and Outreach Program, IIRS		
15:30 - 15:40 hrs	Geography for Geospatial Education	Dr. Aparna Pandey Associate Professor of Geography, Dept. of Education in Social Sciences, NCERT		
15:40 - 15:50 hrs	Role of Industry in Capacity Building for Cutting Edge Technologies	Unnikrishnan A. R. Head Business - Higher Education & Research Segment, NVIDIA India		
15:50 - 16:00 hrs	Discussion & Concluding Remarks by Co-Chair(s)			
16:00 - 16:15 hrs	Tea			

Panel Discussion (16:15 - 17:00 hrs) Title: "Government Institutions - Universities - Industries: Partnership for Enhancing Geospatial Applications" (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium) Chair: Dr. R. R. Navalgund, ISRO				
16:15 - 16:25 hrs	Summary of Plenary Sessions	Rapporteurs		
16:55 - 17:00 hrs	 Remarks by Panelists and Open Discussion Panelists Dr. Sudhir Krishna, Former Secretary, Ministry of Urban Development, Govt. of India Major General Girish Kumar, VSM, Surveyor General of India, Survey of India Dr. Sharad Kumar Jain, Director, National Institute of Hydrology Dr. Balaji Narasimhan, Department of Civil Engineering, IIT-Madras Dr. K. S. Rajan, Head, Lab for Spatial Informatics, IIIT-Hyderabad Nikhil Kumar, Director - Technical Marketing, Trimble India Dr. V. K. Dadhwal, Director, Indian Institute of Space Science and Technology Dr. V. S. Hegde, Professor Satish Dhawan Professor, ISRO Dr. A. Senthil Kumar, Director, IIRS & CSSTEAP 			
10.55 - 17.00 113	Vote of Thanks	Pramod Kumar Group Head, Programme Planning and Evaluation Group and Head, Urban & Regional Studies Department, IIRS		
17:00 - 17:30 hrs	Hi-Tea & Networking	• • •		