

Indian Institute of Remote Sensing

Indian Space Research Organisation Department of Space, Govt. of India Dehradun



IIRS Academia Meet - 2020

Capacity Building in Emerging Remote Sensing Technologies: Requirements and Opportunities

March 03, 2020

Registration: 08:45 - 09:20 hrs (Venue: IIRS Security Gate)

Programme at a Glance						
09:30 - 10:30 hrs	11:00 - 13:00 hrs	14:00 - 14:30 hrs	14:30 - 16:00 hrs	16:15 - 17:00 hrs		
Inaugural Ceremony (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)	Plenary Session - 1 (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)	Exhibition (Venue: In front of Bhaskara Auditorium)	Plenary Session - 2 (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)	Panel Discussion (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)		

Tea: 10:30-11:00 hrs, 16:00 - 16:15 hrs, 17:00 - 17:30 hrs (Venue: Adjacent to Bhaskara Auditorium) Lunch: 13:00 - 14:00 hrs (Central Dining Facility)

Inaugural Ceremony (09:30 - 10:30 hrs) (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)				
09:30 - 09:35 hrs	Invocation and Lighting of Lamp			
09:35 - 09:45 hrs	Welcome & Opening Remarks	Dr. Prakash Chauhan Director, IIRS		
09:45 - 09:50 hrs	IIRS Outreach Award Ceremony	By Chief Guest		
09:50 - 10:00 hrs	Address by Guest of Honour	Dr. A. Senthil Kumar Director, UN-CSSTEAP		
10:00 - 10:10 hrs	Address by Guest of Honour	Shri Dipankar Chowdhury, IAS Commissioner, DST & Biotechnology, Govt. of West Bengal		
10:10 - 10:25 hrs	Address by Chief Guest	Prof. Rakesh Kumar Sharma Vice Chancellor, Graphic Era (Deemed to be University), Dehradun		
10:25 - 10:30 hrs	Vote of Thanks	Dr. S. K. Srivastav Dean (Academics), IIRS		
10:30 hrs	Inauguration of Exhibition by Chief Guest & Group Photograph (Venue: In front of Bhaskara Auditorium) followed by Hi-Tea			

Plenary Session - 1 (11:00 - 13:00 hrs) Capacity Building Initiatives & Opportunities in Emerging Remote Sensing Technologies and Applications (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)						
Co-Chairs: Prof. M.P.S. Bisht, Director, USAC & Prof. Dharmendra Singh, IIT-Roorkee Rapporteur: Dr. R. S. Chatterjee, IIRS						
11:00 - 11:05 hrs	Opening Remarks	Co-Chair(s)				
11:05 - 11:25 hrs	Earth Observation and capacity building programmes of ISRO	Dr. K. R. Manjunath, EDPO, ISRO HQ				
11:25 - 11:40 hrs	Microwave remote sensing data processing & applications	Prof. Dharmendra Singh, IIT-Roorkee				
11:40 - 11:55 hrs	High-resolution remote sensing & photogrammetry applications	Dr. Novaline Jacob, ADRIN				
11:55 - 12:10 hrs	Hyperspectral remote sensing data processing & applications	Dr. Bimal Bhattacharya, SAC				
12:10 - 12:25 hrs	LiDAR data processing and applications	Dr. Hina Pande, IIRS				
12:25 - 12:40 hrs	Advances in remote sensing data processing	Shri Vinod Bothale, NRSC				
12:40 - 12:45 hrs	Capacity Building programmes of IIRS	Dr. S. K. Srivastav, IIRS				
12:45 - 12:50 hrs	Capacity Building programmes of SAC	Dr. S. P. Vyas, SAC				
12:50 - 12:55 hrs	Capacity Building programmes of IARI	Dr. Joydeep Mukherjee, IARI				
12:55 - 13:00 hrs	Discussion & Concluding remarks by Co-Chair(s) followed by Lunch					

Exhibition (14:00 - 14:30 hrs) (Venue: In front of Bhaskara Auditorium)

Plenary Session - 2 (14:30 - 16:00 hrs) Geodata Processing & Analytics: Opportunities in Geospatial industry (Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium) Prof. M. V. Ramana, Head, LAPD/ECSA, NRSC & Shri Ujaval Gandhi, Spatial Thoughts Co-Chairs: Rapporteur: Dr. Harish Karnatak, IIRS 14:30 - 14:35 hrs Co-Chair(s) Opening Remarks Google Earth Engine for planetary scale decision 14:35 - 14:50 hrs Shri Ujaval Gandhi, Spatial Thoughts support Shri V. S. S. Kiran, Esri India 14:50 - 15:05 hrs Advanced geodata analytics 15:05 - 15:20 hrs Big geodata management and analytics Shri Ashish Arora, Hexagon India Emerging remote sensing technologies for crop Dr. Sudhakar Manda, Skymet Weather 15:20 - 15:35 hrs insurance Services Pvt. Ltd. Mr. Abhyudaya Saxena, Aarav Unmanned 15:35 - 15:50 hrs Drones for worksite intelligence

Systems

Panel Discussion (16:15 - 17:00 hrs) Capacity Building in Emerging Remote Sensing Technologies: Requirements & **Opportunities**

Discussion & concluding remarks by Co-Chair(s) followed by Tea

(Venue: Bhaskara Auditorium)

Moderator: Dr. R.R. Navalgund, Former Vikram Sarabhai Distinguished Professor, ISRO

Panelists:

15:50 - 16:00 hrs

Shri Dipankar Chowdhury, IAS, Commissioner, DST & Biotechnology, Govt. of West Bengal

Dr. A. Senthil Kumar, Director, CSSTEAP

Dr. Vinod Bothale, Dy. Director, NRSC

Prof. M.P.S. Bisht, Director, USAC

Dr. M. Senthamil Selvi, Prof. & Head, Sri Ramakrishna Engg. College, Coimbatore

Shri Ashish Arora, Hexagon India

Dr. Prakash Chauhan, Director, IIRS

16:15 - 16:25 hrs	Summary of Plenary Sessions	Rapporteurs	
16:25 - 16:55 hrs	Remarks by Panelists and Open Discussion		
16:55 - 17:00 hrs	Vote of Thanks	Shri C. M. Bhatt, IIRS	
17:00 - 17:30 hrs	Tea & Networking		