Geosciences and Disaster Management Group

Geosciences and Disaster Management Group (GDMG) has two departments namely Geosciences Dept. (GSD) and Disaster Management Science Dept. (DMSD) dedicated to Earth Sciences and Disaster Management training, education and research. Geosciences Department (GSD) is one of the oldest departments of IIRS established in 1966 dealing with geoscientific applications such as geological survey and mapping, groundwater resource assessment, mineral targeting, hydrocarbon exploration, engineering geological mapping. Considering the importance of studying the science behind the incidence and intensity of natural and anthropogenic hazards, Disaster Management Science Department has been created in 2015 under the aegis of Geosciences and Disaster Management Group of the institute for catering to training, education and research in the area of geological, hydrometeorological and environmental hazards.

  1. Geosciences & Disaster Management Group
    1. Disaster Management Sciences (DMS) Dept.
      1. Dr. Arijit Roy, HOD
      2. Mr. CM Bhatt, S/E- SG
      3. Mr. Harishankar, S/E- SE
      4. Mr. Yateesh, S/E- SD
    2. Geosciences Department (GSD)
      1. Dr. R. S. Chatterjee, HOD
      2. Dr. Shovan Lal Chattoraj, S/E- SE
      3. Dr. Pratima Pandey- SE
      4. Ms. Richa Upadhyay, S/E- SE
      5. Mr. Suresh Kannaujiya, S/E- SD
      6. Dr. Mamta Chauhan, S/E- SD
      7. Mrs. Jappji Mehar, S/E- SC
      8. Mr. Amit Shrivastava, Sc. Assistant
Image of Dr. R. S. Chatterjee
Name Dr. R. S. Chatterjee
Designation Group Director & Scientist/Engineer-G
Phone +91-135-2524156
Email gdgdm[at]iirs[dot]gov[dot]in, gsd[at]iirs[dot]gov[dot]in
Field of Expertise Microwave and Thermal Remote Sensing Applications in Geosciences & Geo-environmental Studies, Interferometric & Differential Interferometric SAR Data Analysis & Applications, Precambrian Tectonics and Active Tectonics,Groundwater Depletion and Mining induced Land Subsidence Measurement & Modelling
Profile Link View Profile
Page last updated: 18 April 2023, 12:00


indian institute of remote sensing, indian space research organisation

Department of Space, Government of India

4, Kalidas Road, Dehradun - 248 001 (India)

Tel: + 91 -135 - 2524399 Fax:+ 91 -135 - 2741987

Training & Academic




Outreach & Distance Learning



Director IIRS


space centers in india


national portal of india

Image of National Portal Of India